top of page

Words to NOT use

A couple weeks ago, I read an article on Buzzfeed on 16 words to stop using about diets, bodies, and food. I bookmarked the article cause I thought it was inspiring and I wanted to take my blog this week to share this article with you guys and give you my thoughts on it.

You can read the full article here:

https://www.buzzfeed.com/theresatamkins/please-stop-using-these-16-words-to-describe-bodies-diets?utm_term=.ia9o6Dlj4#.gyD94MaqE

My thoughts:

-First off, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU to this entire article.

-Guilt-Free Food: This makes me SOOOOO angry. ALL food should be guilt free!! You are a GOD DAMN HUMAN and need food to SURVIVE. You have to eat food every day in order to live. ALL FOOD IS GUILT FREE.

P.S. Below is the definition for guilt-committed wrong. Eating can never be committing a wrong because you'd die if you didn't eat.

-Detox/Cleanse: When I was in my eating disorder, I did a 3 day juice cleanse. It was AWFUL. I was starving all day, cranky, it tasted HORRIBLE, and it messed up my poop for weeks!! As I got into recovery and started to learn about my body, and bodies in general, I learned that our bodies are amazing and can actually detox themselves. We do not need to do that for them. So be weary of anything that says detox or cleanse. To me it's just a fancy, accepted word for restricting.

-Low-Carb: I was low-carb QUEEN back in my ED days. That was my thing. And lemme tell you, I WAS CRAY. As soon as I started eating carbs again, I noticed a GIGANTIC difference. I suddenly had energy again. I had brain power again. I had enough energy to be my old goofy self instead of sitting in the corner trying to stay awake. Your body needs carbs, y'all. And carbs are good. Let's celebrate that!

-Thigh gap: OMG I HATE this term. Our bodies are built the way they are supposed to work best. For 98% of us, that means our things touch and that is OK. I SWEAR.

-Willpower: I'll keep this one short and sweet. When you are restricting, it is not willpower, it is an illness.


bottom of page